18 down, 34 to go …


“““image”””

I never tend to make New Years resolutions, as I’m generally rubbish at sticking to them. Why set yourself up to inevitably fail and kick yourself when you do?
However this year is different.

I had seen a number of 52 week challenges in 2015 and I loved how they broke down massive goals into bite sized chunks a week at a time. This to me sounded like people had hacked resolutions – how awesome is that!

So this year is my first ever I have set a New Years resolution, well the first ever stuck to for longer than a week, and my aim is to read 52 books, averaging one a week.

I use Goodreads as a way of tracking what I’ve read, and it beautifully lets you know how far off your yearly reading goal you are.

I’ve managed to read my way through 18 books – some older, some newer books – and it’s striking what I’ve found. I’ve been changed as a person by some of these books and namely by the ones written in the middle of the last century. A Town Like Alice was such a beautiful tale – it showed me that a good story is a good story no matter when it was told.

I came across The Color Purple as part of Emma Watson’s ‘Our Shared Shelf’ feminist book club and I was inspired that the human spirit can endure and overcome so much.

Here’s the entire list of what I’ve read so far in 2016 (as of 29 April):

  • Rose of Sarajevo – Ayse Kulin
  • Before I go to Sleep – S J Watson
  • The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry – Rachel Joyce
  • The Dalai Lama’s Book of Wisdom – Dalai Lama XIV
  • Mr Mercedes – Stephen King
  • The Bees – Laline Paul
  • The Color Purple – Alice Walker
  • Katherine – Anya Seton
  • Secrets of the Sea House – Elisabeth Gifford
  • 1984 – George Orwell
  • The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time – Mark Haddon
  • A Town Like Alice – Nevil Shute
  • A Room of One’s Own – Virginia Woolf
  • Bricking It – Nick Spalding
  • Treasure Island – Robert Louis Stevenson
  • Red Queen – Victoria Aveyard
  • The Last Kingdom – Bernard Cornwell
  • Thoughts on Life and Advertising – Hugh Salmon

I’m currently reading Caitlin Moran’s How to be a Woman, which I’m devouring at great speed.

What else should I read to help to 52? I’d be interested in hearing your book recommendations, so drop me a comment

Leave a Reply

